+996 (312) 62 38 44

State structure

The state structure of the Kyrgyz Republic is defined by the Constitution, which was adopted on June 27, 2010. The new Constitution defines the state form of governance of Kyrgyzstan as a parliamentary republic. The Parliament and the Prime Minister have far more power and authorities than the President.

The Parliament of the republic - Jogorku Kenesh has priority action in defining the most important decisions and policies of the state; it is unicameral and consists of 120 deputies, elected for a five year term by party lists.

The President is elected by nation-wide voting for a 6-year term, without the right for re-election for the second term. The same person may not be elected President twice.

The head of the government - the Prime Minister is appointed by the Parliament upon recommendation of the parliamentary faction of the majority (deputies from the political party, which has won more than 50 per cent of the seats).